There are several types of traffic offenses in Alabama that may or may not result in a car accident. For each of these offenses, the erring driver receives a point on their driving record. Separate offenses have various numbers attached to them, and accumulation over time has severe consequences.
The agency in charge of awarding points and administrative punishments in Alabama is the Department of Public Safety (DPS). The more severe the infraction is, the more points you have. Conversely, a minor offense means fewer numbers. This article looks at the Alabama point system and how long it takes to get removed from your license.
Alabama DPS Point System
The most common traffic offense in Alabama is moving violation. Ordinarily, offenders get two points added to their driver's license for the violation. Penalties that result in two points are:
- Driving up to 25 miles per hour above the speed limit
- Failing to use your turn signal.
- Making an illegal turn
- Driving in the wrong lane
- Unlisted traffic violation
The following offenses will earn you six points:
- Driving at 26 miles per hour or more over the speed limits
- Reckless driving
- Driving under the influence or driving while intoxicated
- Admin per se (Administrative DUI suspension)
Other offenses are:
- Failing to yield the right of way to another motorist: 5 points
- Disobeying traffic control devices: 3 points
- Passing another vehicle illegally: 4 points
- Passing stopped school bus: 5 points.
- Driving on the wrong side of the road: 4 points
- Tailgating: 3 points
What Is the Consequence of Accumulating Too Many Points in Alabama?
Although the Department of Public Safety handles the issuance of points, the Motor Vehicles Division issues a notice of suspension to the erring driver. A motorist will only receive a driver's license suspension if they accumulated 12 points within two years. Note that the points could be more than twelve.
Here's a list of the number of days a driver's license with too many points will get suspended:
- 12 to 14 points: 60 days
- 15 to 17 points: 90 days
- 18 to 20 points: 120 days
- 21 to 23 points: 180 days
- 24 or more points: 365 days
The suspension becomes effective ten days after the MVD issues the notice. However, if you request an administrative hearing, you can get the MVD to stay the suspension's commencement.
At the administrative hearing, the MVD will review the driver's record and can choose to modify the suspension. The MVD can also grant a probationary period where you can avoid suspension if you abstain from future traffic violations.
What Is the Time Frame for Taking Points Off Your Driver's License?
Ordinarily, Alabama's traffic conviction loses its points on your driving record after two years for suspension purposes. But it will remain on your driver's record. If what you have is administrative punishment without a court conviction, the points will clear after you complete the suspension period. It will also remain on your record.
During the suspension, you can apply for a hardship license to get limited driving privileges. Note that the benefit restricts you from driving from home to places like work and school. To get the right, you must show that you need to commute. While using the hardship license, if you commit any further violations, the DPS will revoke it.
To remove the points from your driving record, you must complete a driving safety course approved by the DPS. When you finish the course, you'll submit the completion certificate. Next, you will pay the fines associated with the suspension and reinstatement.
If the DPS approves, you may get your driving privileges reinstated in full or with conditions. Either way, you'll be able to drive again. Note that the DPS only removes points from less severe offenses. Thus, if you constantly drink and drive and get arrested, the points will remain on your record.
What Impact Does Points on Your Driver's License Have?
In Alabama, anyone, from your employer to the insurance company, can request your driving record. Also, insurance companies use it to determine your insurance premium. If you have points on your driver's license, your premium will be higher than that of a person who doesn't.
If you apply for a driving job, it will impact whether or not you get employed. The court or government agencies can also request your driving record. Therefore, it is better to keep your driving license without points.
Mike Bell Injury Law Can Help You!
Getting points on your driver's license can lead to more legal consequences that would require an attorney's services. At Mike Bell Injury Law, we have the expertise to help you. Schedule a free consultation with us today.
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment